Sexuality in our culture.

The other day while waiting for the bus I decided to walk into a newsagent to have a look at the magazines. Almost all of the covers had sexy (naturally or digitally), well or a bit less known girls and women on them.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m all for freedom of expression. I don’t think anyone should be judged by anyone else only ‘cos they dress differently, more provocative than other people around them. However, I’ve become tired of the constant exposure to sex in our culture.

I also don’t think that people in the public eye: such as singers, actors etc. are good role models for the younger generation if the only way they can think of promoting their work or name is by overusing sex and sexuality.

I don’t understand why sex needs to be used as a marketing tool to such an extent. I also don’t understand why it’s usually women who are exploited that way.

How can we create an equal society based on unequal expectations? Any takes on that?

What do you think, my dear reader?

Leave a Reply

