Sex Trafficking and a Disaffected Society

I’m Human Just Like You, So Please Help Me!  

Yesterday there was an article in the newspaper on sex trafficking, it talked about how common this was nowadays and how disaffected people in society seem to be about sex trafficking and the people who are trafficked. People read about the girls and after the initial ‘oh how sad’, they continue with their lives thankful that this has nothing to do with them and cannot infect their clean environment.

Are people really disaffected? Do people really not care?

Could it be that people relate to what they know and not a lot of people know someone directly involved in this disgusting act.

The reason I wrote about sex trafficking in my third book ‘Blood Borne Connections’ was because I wanted people to be able to relate to the innocent girls taken out of their safe environments and subjected to rape, abuse and depravity by men old enough to be their grandfathers. I wanted people to see that these girls are human – they have feelings, they once had dreams and hopes about their futures – they have names.

Fifteen year old Tatiana wanted to be a teacher. Her parents were teachers in Czechoslovakia and from a young age she learned about the history of her country from her father who taught History and she learned how to speak English from her mother who taught English. Her parents were loving, kind and honest and they taught her to be the same. When Tatiana’s sister was born she fell in love with her and would sit and watch her for hours hoping that she would hurry up and grow up so that they could play together.

Here are some words from Tatiana:

There is a memory that I used to cling to but sadly it is beginning to fade – I am running in a field next to my house in Czechoslovakia as fast as my little legs can carry me. I am three or maybe four years old and to me the field seems to go on forever and ever. It is as though I am running to the end of the world. I am happy! I am free! I am free! I am not in this vile place where married men with wedding bands on, single men, old men and young men used my body every day. Seven days a week the door would open and a man would walk in at any time of the day and have sex with me. At first I refused, I tried to reason with them, I told them I was only fifteen. I tried to fight them . . . 

Society needs to see Tatiana and the thousands upon thousands of other girls like her who have been used as sex slaves, as real, as children who deserve to live, who deserve better! If they could each say something to you it would be this, ‘I’m Human Just Like You, So Please Help Me!’  

Sex trafficking will only stop when people stop it, when people see that the people who are trafficked are human, have names and deserve better – Society cannot afford to be disaffected because sex trafficking affects everyone in one way or another.

Watch the ‘Blood Borne Connections’ video on YouTube, listen to Tatiana’s story.  

Let me know what you think

 

Links:

Amazon UK Kindle

Amazon US Kindle

 Twitter

FB

Leave a Reply

