Blood Borne Connections – Chapter 9

DSCN1170[1]

 

Chapter 9

 

Inside Interrogation Room 15 LAPD

 

“Mr. McKenna, can you hear me? Nigel McKenna, I need to know what drugs you took last night,” the doctor on call asked. Pen poised to write, he waited for Nigel to tell him.

Nigel didn’t answer.

“Mr. McKenna, I’m asking as a doctor. Just tell me so that I can fill out my paperwork. I’m not going to report you.”

Nigel heard the voice as he slowly floated back to earth. The effect of the ‘spiked’ Indian hemp he had smoked last night coupled with the sedation the paramedic had administered was fading. He knew that he was sitting down but for some reason he couldn’t feel his legs. He saw his hands searching for his legs but couldn’t feel anything. “Maybe the aliens took them,” a voice mockingly whispered. He looked around the room to see who had spoken but the two men in the room were looking at him, waiting for him to speak.

“Doc, will you excuse us a minute?” Detective Kowalski asked. He walked over to the door, opened it, and indicated with his head that the doctor should leave.

“Detective, I need to fill out my paperwork-”

“Doc I need to find out where this man’s wife is. Go talk to the inspector if you’re not clear on what is more important at this stage, a human life or your paperwork!”

“But-”

“Come back later, Doc,” Kowalski told him as he gently shoved him out and closed the door.    “Now Mr. McKenna, it’s just you and me. My name is Detective Kowalski and I need to know where your wife is. Do you remember what happened to Dorothy?”

“Who?” Nigel asked.

“Dorothy, your wife, Dorothy, where is she?”

“The aliens took her,” Nigel replied, smiled and closed his eyes as he continued to float.

Detective Kowalski kicked at the chair Nigel sat in. Nigel’s eyes flew open as he fell back. He cried out in pain as he hit his head on the wall behind him. Kowalski pulled him up and kicked the chair out of the way. He grabbed Nigel as he tried to back away and pinned him up against the wall. “You’re not so tough now are you? I hear you like hitting women. What say you and me go out back, one on one, right now! You think you can take me on? Or is it just defenseless women that you like to hit?”

“I don’t know where my wife is, the last time I saw her was last night before I went to bed. I went to sleep and when I woke up this morning I saw signs that the aliens-”

“Ah, ah, ah, ah, no bull, I don’t want to hear about your drug induced aliens. Did you hit your wife last night?”

“Last night?”

“Yes last night, did you hit her?”

Nigel frowned as he tried to remember, “Last night?”

“Did she decide that enough was enough and she wasn’t going to put up with you beating her anymore? Did she stand up to you? Is that why her blood is all over your bed sheets? Did you stab your wife to death? Did you dump her body somewhere?”

“What? No! I didn’t stab her!”

“But you beat her?”

“I don’t remember beating her last night.”

“But you remember beating her on other nights?”

“I don’t really beat her, I just give her the odd slap now and then to keep her in line, let her know who the boss is.”

“I hear you like being the boss. According to our records you’ve fractured her ribs, broken her arm, and you beat her whenever you pretty much feel like beating her.”

“I don’t remember beating her last night, in fact I’m sure I didn’t beat her last night, maybe I slapped her the night before but not last night and I didn’t stab her!”

Detective Kowalski pushed him against the wall and turned away from him, disgusted. He had two daughters and the thought of one of them marrying a man like this filled him with dread. He turned back quickly, raised his hand and slapped Nigel across the face. Nigel staggered backwards and he grabbed him and slapped him again. “Is that how you used to slap her in the past to keep her in line? Did you go too far this time?”

The door swung open; both men turned.

“Can I see you out here for a second, Kowalski?” Inspector Carter Goodman said and waited for him to walk out of the room.

As soon as the door closed Kowalski braced himself for what he knew was coming.

“What the hell do you think you’re doing, Kowalski?”

“Trying to do my job, Sir.”

“By hitting him? By pushing him around? How does that constitute doing your job? Once his lawyer gets here, sees the bruises and talks to him, he can get him to file an assault charge against you.”

“Sir-”

“Listen, don’t you think we have enough trouble with lawyers and journalists accusing us of being violent and in bed with the Mafia? I’m sick and tired of the stories written about the men in blue being just as corrupt as the Mafia and just as brutal as well. I’ve lost a number of good men who made bad choices. I don’t want to lose you, Kowalski, but I won’t stand back and let you do this. As your boss, I’m telling you now, question him with your mouth and not your hands, do you hear me?”

“Yes Sir.”

Ebooks from GLL Publishing available at Amazon, Smashwords etc – Books also available via http://www.gllpublishing.com

Despite all odds: A Dream Fulfilled Part 1

Despite all odds: A Dream Fulfilled Part 2

Truths, Lies And Untold Secrets

Blood Borne Connections

U Murder U (Suicide)

http://www.gllpublishing.com

https://www.facebook.com/gllpublishings.co.uk?ref=hl

https://www.facebook.com/Blood-Borne-Connections-book-121559344708084/?ref=hl

abcd

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

